Another campaign ends, Another begins!

A Campaign Ends

235445_1288516_JPG_635x423_q95_crop-smart_upscale

I started working on the Markey Campaign since before the Primary. This was not only the first time I got involved with a US Senate campaign, but also the first time I began working on a campaign in the area I generally stay: the South End neighborhood of Boston.

There was no real question of my involvement on the campaign. For better or worse, we as Democrats needed to send a real champion to Washington to work with Senator Elizabeth Warren and Ed was the guy for the office. I was proud to have canvassed out in Cambridgeport for our next US Senator. I was even more proud of the work we had done as the South End Team to get Markey elected. Good times and bad times abound, we did really good work!

On Election Day, I remember arriving to the polls and finding more people there to vote than during the Primary, which made me quiet pleased. I was even more pleased to see a neighbor I’m familiar with entering the polling place as I was exiting.

When I had already arrived at the Park Plaza Hotel, several prominent community leaders and figures were already there. Boston City Councilor At-Large Ayanna Pressley, Cambridge philantropist Barbara Lee, Somerville Mayor Joe Curtatone, State Senator Katherine Clark, and State Senator Karen Spilka had already arrived. It wouldn’t be until later that many more would arrive, like Suffolk District Attorney and candidate for Mayor, Dan Conley, Boston City Councilor At-Large and candidate for Mayor, Felix Arroyo, and State Representative Josh Cutler of Pembroke.

I recall seeing the results being posted on the TVs inside the event and was ecstatic that it was annouced that we won. I could not be more pleased.

I’m glad to have connected with even more awesome people during this campaign, like Paul, Sebastian, and Andrew (both of them).

Another Campaign Begins!

1001329_10101037041577179_1453313637_n

The very next day I woke up beaming. We had won. But I also knew that this meant that with Ed becoming a US Senator, this would also mean there would be another Special Election (and thus, the 4th I will be working on this year) for the 5th Congressional District. One book closes, another book opens.

As reported, we were also going to find out about the Supreme Court’s ruling on DOMA. To my absolute glee, the Court has decided to strike it down as unconstitutional. This can be added to the spectacular work that has been done to overturn Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, the numerous appointments of openly gay people at a record high number, and the behind the scenes work on civil rights legislation Obama has accomplished.

I will indeed be celebrating tonight to the dual victories we’d had in just 2 days, but when I wake up tomorrow I know that I will have more than my fair share of work to do in the coming year, three years, five years, ten years, and beyond. Keep it strong and keep it moving.

Carl Sciortino for Congress!

One thought on “Another campaign ends, Another begins!

  1. Pingback: Reflections On: 3rd Annual LGBTQ Conference at Harvard | The Progressive Democrat

Leave a Reply

