When I Became a Feminist

It’s really difficult for me to pinpoint the exact time I became a feminist. Growing up in the 80s and 90s, seeing women on television in powerful positions was becoming much more prevalent. The earliest known instance I can recall seeing feminism was from my favorite movie as a child, Mary Poppins. I watched it so much that we had to buy another one. Although watching this became the butt of countless jokes in the future against my validity as a person to even spend any time on or with (esp. the comments by my former best-friend from grammar school, for example), one reason I find I loved the movie so much was because of one particular scene in the movie, with the musical title of Sister Suffragette.

To this day, it’s still one of my favorite scenes in the entire movie. Votes for Women!

There was also another Disney film that featured a prominant character that was also a woman not just cooking in the kitchen, Mulan.

It would be some time, but once I discovered Xena: Warrior Princess, it was hard not to love this show.

xena06m

And then came Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

end-of-days-scythe

Faith-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-7159271-1116-836

Buffy-Kendra-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-888600_274_400

Even Underworld.

Underworld-2003-kate-beckinsale-5346842-1934-1080

And Cleopatra2525.

cleopatra2525

Cleopatra-2525-victoria-pratt-7953958-1024-768

The Lord of the Rings anyone?

eowyn-fighting

eowyn-wiki

witchking

Is feminism more than watching strong female characters on television? Certainly. But it had to start somewhere with me, even though I can’t pinpoint where.

Leave a Reply

