Reflections On: Meeting Russell Simmons

Simmon-Occupy-Boston-1280x960

Kelley, in this picture, is someone I also knew.

I did not actually meet Russell Simmons. The other people I knew involved with Occupy Boston, such as Ryan Cahill, Acacia Mucciarone, and Farhad Ebrahimi, had all decided that I wasn’t good enough to meet him, and even get a picture with him.

I was inside the Media Tent because I was directed by them to “stay [hide] inside the Media Tent.” I was not told Russell Simmons was even going to show up, just “stay inside the Media Tent.”

I also recall certain accusations by Robin Jacks, and Acacia, that I was trying to “hijack” their movement, as well. So to suggest that I am somehow closely associated, or thought well of them, should be taken as severe exaggeration, even at that time. It just wasn’t what I actually thought, or felt, given these sort of exchanges.

This did get covered in the news, quite a bit. I stand by, certainly, that Occupy Boston was not some only-wonderful time. But I still want to know: Why didn’t I get to speak to Russell Simmons? Why didn’t I get to even get a picture with him? What happened with that?

One thought on “Reflections On: Meeting Russell Simmons

  1. Pingback: Reflections On: Meeting Eric Cantor | The Progressive Democrat

Leave a Reply

