The Relationship With My Family

16438_101812729842159_4656970_n

Me with the family on May 8th, 2004 at my Aunt Joanne’s House in Burlington, MA. Next to my mother, Sandi, is my father, Evan, and below are my younger brothers, Jeffrey  and Jacob.

The relationship between me and my family is quite the poor one, much of this stems from the lack of knowledge I had on my family history (which they banned me from researching for my entire life).

CZGsjGyUkAAA0vP

Here is my mother, Sandi, and my father, Evan, in the same house in 2013.

Before I begin, let’s make it clear that the apple doesn’t fall from the tree, and you don’t need to tell me about that. I know all too well.

12645150_1054444004579022_4777813929576753579_n

Yes, sugar cookies are the real issue here, not the promotion and uplifting of well-known anti-gay evangelicals, like Kirk Cameron.

12654601_1054444837912272_7301662656930889513_n

His views on evolution?

12670418_1054467937909962_4054958294412721356_n

The topic, apparently, is best comparable to what type of music you like, such as 50s, as opposed to something attached to one’s health, and general welfare. Not civil rights, not political freedom, but, of course, The Bible, which I received from my Aunt Joanne with certain highlighted texts to discourage me from homosexuality.

father

If you don’t recognize the problem, then you are unable to change it.

truth

Yes, it is true that I am a “spoiled brat” who takes “temper tantrums” when I don’t get my way. And it is also apparently true that I do not “get” “unconditional love” because I have never “given birth” and will “never understand.” Even though my mother apparently wrote this (I emphasize, ‘apparently’), my father did chime in real fast to agree on it.

12669653_1054475904575832_8211247096979556448_n

trump

My support for Hillary Clinton as President appears to be a very massive issue between me and my family, which is odd in a country which has political freedom. Just odd. How is that so incredibly important?

isis

I do this “facts be damned,” supposedly, which is interesting considering I have heard this rhetoric before, from former Congresswoman Michele Bachmann.

Additionally, Republican Presidential candidate Donald Trump has received the endorsement of former Massachusetts United States Senator and former candidate for United States Senate in New Hampshire, Scott Brown, who has a strong, lengthy history opposing the LGBT community, as well as that of former Governor of Alaska and Vice Presidential candidate, Sarah Palin:

According to The New York Times article, “Palin on Abortion and Gays“:

“But what you’re talking about, I think, value here, what my position is on homosexuality and you can pray it away, because I think that was the title that was listed on that bulletin.”

When I have said that I received copies of Desires In Conflict by Joe Dallas, and The Purpose Driven Life, by Rick Warren, there was no embellishment on my part.

First, here are a few videos of Joe Dallas.

And even more of these videos:

Ugh. Really? As far as Rick Warren goes…

Rick Warren’s view on homosexuality?

On gay marriage?

Quite the waffle on this. Not buying it.

3 thoughts on “The Relationship With My Family

  1. Pingback: Reflections On: West End House Boys Camp, Maine ca. 1990s | The Progressive Democrat

  2. Pingback: My 9/11 Experience | The Progressive Democrat

  3. Pingback: On Internet Trolls… *Sigh* | The Progressive Democrat

Leave a Reply

