The Best of Blink-182: 1999-2004

blink-182-o

 

They are not the greatest band I would say, but their music videos were often funny.

“What’s My Age Again?” is freaking great, written by vocalist and guitarist Mark Hoppus, about him being in his 20s and “acting like a jackass teenager.” Notably, “It is autobiographical. I still make prank phone calls, insult people, and put my foot in my mouth.” From Enema of the State.

I liked “All the Small Things” for them making fun of boy bands. Honestly, it was a little much in the 1990s and early 2000s. From Enema of the State.

What I really loved about “Adam’s Song,” an anti-suicide song is that at  “the heart of the song is about having hard times in your life, being depressed, and going through a difficult period, but then finding the strength to go on and finding a better place at the other side of that,” which means it is all about empowerment. But to say that I can relate to the song? The first verse and chorus is quite unrelated to me (I laughed the hardest/Who’d have known?, I’m too depressed to go on/You’ll be sorry when I’m gone, 16 just held such better days/Days when I still felt alive/We couldn’t wait to get outside, for example). From Enema of the State.

“The Rock Show,” from Take Off Your Pants and Jacket, is seriously catchy.

“The First Date,” from Take Off Your Pants and Jacket, is a great summery of “neurotic teen angst and awkwardness.”

“I Miss You,” from Blink-182, in fantastic in capturing  (according to guitarist Tom DeLonge) “the vulnerability and kind of heart-wrenching pain you feel when you’re in love and when you’re a guy and you’re trying to tell a girl, ‘Don’t waste your time coming and talking to me because, in my head at least, you probably already gave me up a long time ago.’

Leave a Reply

