Reflection On: Meeting Joe Kennedy III

20160610_174900

With Congressman Joe Kennedy at a Pride Party in Boston’s South End.

On June 10th, 2016, I finally had the pleasure of meeting Congressman Joe Kennedy III at a Pride Party taking place in Boston’s South End neighborhood at Ink Block Boston.

The first time I ever saw Congressman Kennedy was at the Greenovate Boston event for the Cool Globes on the Boston Common on August 15th, 2013, in attendance with his uncle, Waterkeeper Alliance Board President Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., and then-Boston Mayor, Thomas Menino.

BMQHRYyCIAAOMPv

The second (and third) time I managed to see him, but not meet him, was when he marched with Jason Collins in the 2013 Boston Pride Parade, and with Congressman Barney Frank in the 2012 Parade. However, I was far too busy volunteering for Boston Pride those times (where I met Karmin, and Sue O’Connell, actually), so I did not take the initiative to meet him. (I would have loved to have met Jason Collins, however.)

The fourth time I saw him was when he was received the Franklin Roosevelt Award at the Massachusetts Democratic Party 17th Annual Roosevelt Awards Dinner at the Omni-Parker on May 2nd, 2016. I actually got to shake his hand briefly at this event, but he was in a hurry.

tumblr_nwk6o0UARx1r1f0ufo1_500

This time, when I met him, he said “Hi, I’m Joe” and was nearly about to say, “Yes, I know who you are” à la responses to Prime Minister Harriet Jones from Doctor Who, before he spoke some more, and that moment disappeared.

He is even harder to miss because he is ginger! You really can’t miss that. Only ginger in the delegation!

Leave a Reply

